Pirtle’s Bill Up For A Vote

A bill, putting New Mexico on daylight saving time year-round on Monday cleared its second committee and is headed to the Senate floor for consideration. The Senate Judiciary Committee voted 4-3, to advance the Mountain Daylight as Permanent New Mexico Time bill, which passed the Senate Public Affairs Committee by an 8-0 vote on the 14th. State Senator Cliff Pirtle’s bill would keep New Mexico on daylight saving time for 12 months, instead of the current eight. If enacted, March, 12th would be the last time New Mexicans change their clocks when they “spring” forward.