Eddy County Approves Fire Dept. Reorganization

The Eddy County Commission has approved elmimnating the fire chief positions at 11 fire stations and consolidating the fire departments into three districts. The move is expected to improve emergency response county-wide, while also helping to maintain fire insurance ratings. Chief Joshua Mack told the Current Argus that districts will now be staffed by three battalion chiefs, three captains in the southern district, and two captains in the north, while lieutenants will oversee each specific station.